Back to list discography
The black days sessions #1

Daniel Romeo

Michel Herr wrote two string arrangements for this album. Both on compositions by Daniel Romeo.
The first one ("La valse de soleil Marijane") for bass and string quartet.
The other one ("Vincent") was a previously recorded track featuring the late Toots Thielemans on harmonica, track to which he added a string quartet.

Tracks :

1. La valse de soleil Marijane (Daniel Romeo)
2. Vincent (Daniel Romeo)

Musicians :

on "La valse de soleil Marijane" :

Daniel Romeo - electric bass
Nicolas Stevens - 1st violin
Elsa de Lacerda - 2nd violin
Marc Pijpops - viola
Jean-François Assy - cello

on "Vincent" :

Daniel Romeo - electric bass
Jean "Toots" Thielemans - harmonica
Dré Pallemaerts - drums
Eric Legnini - Fender Rhodes, Moog
Giovanni Rizutto - acoustic guitar
Olivier Bodson - trumpet
Laurent Doumont - tenor sax
Alain Palizeul - trombone

Strings arranged and conducted by Michel Herr, recorded on July 26, 2017 at Da Romeo's studio in Brussels (B).
Released in December 2017. Double LP & CD.