Back to list discography

The European Community Jazz Orchestra

Musical director : Rick Taylor

This huge big band (26 players) was formed with young musicians from different European countries (some of the names are now well established on the jazz scene).
Michel Herr was asked to write a piece for this orchestra.
He brought "Song for Micheline", see side 2, track 1.

Tracks :

Side 1, 1 : The wrong button (Bert Joris)
Side 1, 2 : A girl from Trigwell's Planet (Django Bates)

Side 2, 1. Song for Micheline (Michel Herr)
Side 2, 2. Up country (Rick Taylor)

Musicians :

Peter Vandendriessche - alto sax, sop sax, fl
Julian Arguelles - alto sax, sop sax, fl
Matthias Schubert - tenor sax
Tommy Smith - tenor sax, fl
Johan Vandendriessche- baritone sax, fl
Simon Gardner - trumpet
Rüdiger Baldauf - trumpet, flugelhorn
Ingolf Burkhardt - trumpet, flugelhorn
Karl Farrent - trumpet, flugelhorn
Fabio Morgera - trumpet, flugelhorn
Marc Godfroid - trombone
Neil Sidwell - trombone
Jilt Kansma - trombone
Dick Bolt- bass trombone
Ingo Luis - bass trombone
Murray Hardie - tuba
Helena Spencer - French horn
Stanley Van Wel - French horn
Richard Few - French horn
Beatrice Driver- French horn
Gary Hamilton - French horn
Andrea Pazza - piano
Riccardo Bianchi - guitar
David Jones - bass guitar
Soren Christensen - drums
Frank Michiels - percussion

Recorded at Swan Studio, Buizingen (B), August 15, 1985. Released in 1986 in Belgium. LP (Jazz Cats/René Gailly 6985 015)